I bought a Kayak!

Well it has been quite some time since I’ve written on here, hasn’t it!? Life has been good, good and busy. Although I haven’t been getting out of doors as much as I’d like this Summer, I have been working hard at my day job and with Whiskey Wood Creations. I treated myself to a kayak, after my girlfriend received one from her parents as a gift. We have gone out with friends and floated the Bitterroot River near Missoula as well as paddled around Seeley Lake in search of northern pike (missed some big bastards – the hit or bite got that fishing adrenaline pumping). I am still getting used to this craft and am feeling more comfortable and balanced with each outing.

kayak, kayaking, montana, bitterroot, bitterroot river, fishing, fly fishing, river, missoula

The day before purchasing my kayak – floated the Bitterroot tube-style.

kayak, kayaking, montana, bitterroot, bitterroot river, fishing, fly fishing, river, missoula

Loaded up on the ol trailer – My kayak on the left, girlfriend’s on the right.

kayak, kayaking, montana, bitterroot, bitterroot river, fishing, fly fishing, river, missoula

Sometimes you’ve got to snap a river selfie.

kayak, kayaking, montana, bitterroot, bitterroot river, fishing, fly fishing, river, missoula

Getting ready to go out on a wavy Seelely Lake, MT with my new yak.

I purchased an Emotion Guster 10′ Kayak and would highly recommend it to any other beginning kayakers – it handles smoothly, is stable and very comfortable. I wanted to reconnect with my readers and share a couple of photos from my recent kayaking adventures this Summer. I hope all is well in your neck of the woods and Adventure On!

Recommended Kayaking gear (click images to view details):

Small Kayak J-Rack Car Cradle

Maker! Web Designer • Front-end Developer • Digital Marketer • Musician • Montanan • Founder @mathsondesignco @whiskeywoodcreations | Former Marketing/Media @DIY_PETE Writing, woodworking, songwriting, blogging, and more. @scottmathson

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fly Fishing, Kayak, Outdoors & Exploring
One comment on “I bought a Kayak!
  1. Amber says:

    My birthday gift this year was a fishing kayak (it just has rod holders) and I love it! Kayaks are the best- easy to maneuver, easy to load, uses no fuel, and a great workout for your shoulders, especially if there’s wind or a current.

    I just made sure to also purchase an anchor- you don’t think about it when you’re just paddling, but basically any wind or wave action sends you scooting across the lake. It’s hard to fish when you’re moving that much. We’re also looking forward to using it to make me into our retriever for duck and goose season- a little camouflage netting and it’s good to go, since it’s already a light tan.

Comments are highly encouraged!

