35mm Film: First Attempt

About a week ago, I grabbed my girlfriend’s film camera and decided I was going to bring that along on a grouse hunt. Well, I was so fascinated by capturing moments in nature on that old 35mm film camera, that the hunt quickly turned into a photography session in Lolo National Forest. I learned one big thing flipping through the images after they were done being developed: that I need to practice more, figure out how to correctly focus and learn more about using the F-stop and Shutter speeds correctly. Oh! I might want to attach a flash next time I go out at dusk too.

Needless to say, I am happy with how a couple of the photos that I took turned out. I wanted to share those with you on here. This technically could be considered a part 2 or extension of my “A Bridge to be Admired” post since the photos were taken that same day.

mormon peak road, lolo national forest, lolo peak, enter adventure, outdoor photography, nature photography, missoula, montana, bitterroot valley

mormon peak road, lolo national forest, lolo peak, enter adventure, outdoor photography, nature photography, missoula, montana, bitterroot valley

mormon peak road, lolo national forest, lolo peak, enter adventure, outdoor photography, nature photography, missoula, montana, bitterroot valley

I personally love the grainy, lo-fi quality of this picture and scene.

mormon peak road, lolo national forest, lolo peak, enter adventure, outdoor photography, nature photography, missoula, montana, bitterroot valley

I am truly having fun in the nature of Montana and love sharing that with you readers here on Enter Adventure! Thanks for checking out my posts and consistently liking and giving me feedback. I am going to start bringing this film camera out more on my outings and capture moments with that rather then the iPhoneography method that I’ve been using up until this point.

mormon peak road, lolo national forest, lolo peak, enter adventure, outdoor photography, nature photography, missoula, montana, bitterroot valley

I hope this beautiful autumn season is treating everyone fine and that you find yourselves basking in its offerings. I know that for me personally, I am going to most importantly focus on getting outside more then I have been! Life is going really swell and I am working two flexible part time jobs now that allow me more time to enjoy life and not be stuck wasting my time in long traffic commutes. I feel that happiness is very important and that it can be overseen at times. So get out there, enjoy life and your time on this earth, and venture on! Cheers.

Maker! Web Designer • Front-end Developer • Digital Marketer • Musician • Montanan • Founder @mathsondesignco @whiskeywoodcreations | Former Marketing/Media @DIY_PETE Writing, woodworking, songwriting, blogging, and more. @scottmathson

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Art, Outdoors & Exploring, photography
12 comments on “35mm Film: First Attempt
  1. Scott, great looking stuff here. my brother is here from Salmon, Id and he and I hiked the Cuyahoga Valley Nat’l Park today. he took plenty of pics like these just moving through the park. keep on shooting. great stuff.

    I have been through sections of the Lolo many times before. had big fish days on the Bitterroot this summer. Peace JW

    • scottmathson says:

      Jack,
      That is awesome and I bet you guys got some amazing pictures! I love this time of year and I definitely love the Salmon, Idaho area. I have yet to make a steelheading journey out that way. I need to!

      The Bitterroot Valley is amazing and I’m happy to be hearing from a fellow Bitterroot River lover! I’d love to see some pics/hear some stories of your outings on the Root!
      Cheers,
      Scott

  2. Sonya says:

    Way to go! Isn’t film fun? Give us some deets! Camera, lens, film used?

    • scottmathson says:

      Thanks Sonya! It really is fun. I used a Vivitar V3800N with Vivitar 50mm f/1.7 lense, film was Kodak something or other 200. I’m still new to all this and trying to understand it all :)

  3. Stacey says:

    Scottie! Those are awesome! Grandpa would be so boastful about the pics! Love and miss you.

  4. Awesome pics! Turned out really well…keep ’em coming!

    Spencer

  5. Awesome pics! Look forward to seeing more! Keep ’em coming!

    Spencer

  6. Mimi Mathson says:

    Awesome photography, bud! You certainly are a chip off the old blocks (Grandpa Mac and me!) Happy Birthday, my precious son! I love you! Mom

  7. Luke Johnson says:

    Thanks for sharing Scott! If you notice, a lot of the treatments and filters that people have been using lately…look a lot like the old 35mm days. So…35mm = cool!

Comments are highly encouraged!

Receive updates directly through email. Thanks!

Follow me on Twitter
backcountry.com, shopping, outdoor gear, skiing, sale
rockmountaintrail.com, rock mountain trail, gear, outdoor gear, shopping, sale, clearance, fall sale
altrec.com, outdoor gear, shopping, altrec, sales, clearance
