An October outing on the Bitterroot River

fly fishing, bitterroot river, montana fly fishing, montana, streamer fishing, rainbow trout, october, fall fishing

Daily temperatures around the Bitterroot Valley, MT area having been steadily dropping and a freezing morning frost is now a common occurrence. October has been showing us some nicer days as of late though and yesterday (October 5th) was a prime example of that. The sun was out, the air was seemingly warm, and this recipe called for some much needed fishing! I haven’t been able to get out on the water a lot lately so this was very relaxing and a good practice session of sorts to work out any faults in my casts. fly fishing, bitterroot river, montana fly fishing, montana, streamer fishing, rainbow trout, october, fall fishing

Although I personally didn’t catch a fish (which is hard to do within a quick 45 minute outing) I had an amazing time in the presence of the Bitterroot River and Lolo National Forest. As my special lady and I stood at the open hatch of my Subaru Outback stringing up the rods and basking in the first recent sign of a nice day I examined the water for rising fish and none were seen. That was when I decided to give streamers (which I am constantly learning more and more about) a try. My girlfriend Michelle is a fan of throwing live bait into the river rather than flies and was simultaneously making her choice to tie on a hook and worm.

We walked down to a nice looking spot and as I was walking downriver from where she was I instantly heard her excitement and yells! She had already hooked into a nice fish; on the first cast no less. Maybe there is something to be had fishing with worms. I grabbed my net, ran down to where she was and we netted a beautiful Montana rainbow trout. fly fishing, bitterroot river, montana fly fishing, montana, streamer fishing, rainbow trout, october, fall fishingWe took in the beauty the fish and the moment offered and then released the growing rainbow back into the chilly depths.

I truly enjoyed our short outing on the river and focused more of my time on just being there and taking in the surroundings rather then seriously trying to hook into some trout. October is a beautiful month: the month of my birth and is a time where I consistently find myself heading out of doors to explore. Tight lines to those out seeking those feisty fall browns and silvers. fly fishing, bitterroot river, montana fly fishing, montana, streamer fishing, rainbow trout, october, fall fishing

Maker! Web Designer • Front-end Developer • Digital Marketer • Musician • Montanan • Founder @mathsondesignco @whiskeywoodcreations | Former Marketing/Media @DIY_PETE Writing, woodworking, songwriting, blogging, and more. @scottmathson

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fly Fishing, Outdoors & Exploring, photography
2 comments on “An October outing on the Bitterroot River
  1. Very nice! I’m deeply envious.

Comments are highly encouraged!

Receive updates directly through email. Thanks!

Follow me on Twitter
backcountry.com, shopping, outdoor gear, skiing, sale
rockmountaintrail.com, rock mountain trail, gear, outdoor gear, shopping, sale, clearance, fall sale
altrec.com, outdoor gear, shopping, altrec, sales, clearance
