Hunting Season is here in Montana

Fall seems to come quicker and quicker each year. I have been thinking about different hunting opportunities and scoping areas out since last fall, but the time flies by and there is only so much you can do on top of a busy life!

Hunting season for deer and elk with archery has approached in Montana (as of September 7th). Although I have gone through the proper training and certification for bow hunting in Montana, I think I am going to sit out this season and start prepping for the General Rifle season that is approaching in October. The rifle ranges are getting pretty busy around here and I need to finish zeroing in the Vortex to make sure a clean kill is had! The buzz on social media and different blogs that I regular is contagious and things are definitely getting fired up around the state. I have seen some photos of some amazing hunting experiences and I am excited to eventually share mine with you on here. I wish you all a good season and safety out in the woods.

Browning, Browning firearms, Vortex, Vortex Optics, Vortex Viper, rifle, hunting, montana, deer, elk, 30.06A big purchase was made this past year and gear-wise things are looking very promising! I am a proud new owner of a Browning 30.06 X Bolt rifle topped with Vortex 4-16×50 Viper scope: I am blessed.Browning, Browning firearms, Vortex, Vortex Optics, Vortex Viper, rifle, hunting, montana, deer, elk, 30.06

 

 

 

 

 

I also plan to go out and purchase an Upland Bird license in the upcoming days as that season is well underway and birds are being put in freezers quickly. A little grouse hunting before work is always a good time and I am getting excited just thinking about getting out there on some more adventures. Instead of kicking myself in the ass for what in my mind feels like unpreparedness, I am going to do what I can with the time I know have. Make the best of this season!

Stay tuned for some updates and of course photos on this hunting season. I am really looking forward to being able to provide and bring some meat to our table here in the Bitterroot Valley of Montana. Venture on and good luck to all of you out in the backwoods searching for game.

A few of my personal recommendations relating to this post and hunting in general:

hunting, gear, montana, deer, elk, deer hunting, elk hunting, hunting season 2013hunting, gear, montana, deer, elk, deer hunting, elk hunting, hunting season 2013, sitkahunting, gear, montana, deer, elk, deer hunting, elk hunting, hunting season 2013, outdoor edge game processor kit, butchering kithunting, gear, montana, deer, elk, deer hunting, elk hunting, hunting season 2013, badlands, badlands puruist, daypack, hunting pack

RockyMountainTrailBanner

BackcountryBanner

Maker! Web Designer • Front-end Developer • Digital Marketer • Musician • Montanan • Founder @mathsondesignco @whiskeywoodcreations | Former Marketing/Media @DIY_PETE Writing, woodworking, songwriting, blogging, and more. @scottmathson

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Gear & Reviews, Hunting, Outdoors & Exploring
2 comments on “Hunting Season is here in Montana
  1. What do you think about the X-Bolt. I’ve been keen on getting one and wanted to get your thoughts.

    • scottmathson says:

      Spencer, the Browning X-Bolt is truly amazing! In my outings prepping this beast for the general rifle season, I have been more and more impressed.
      The bolt action is amazingly smooth and the 60 degree bolt lift makes it very easy to cycle rounds faster and avoid the scope getting in the way.
      The trigger is very nice and pulls so effortlessly (it is adjustable from 3 to 5 lbs and comes factory at 3.5 lbs pull). I left the trigger pull right where its at, feels perfect.
      Another plus is the recoil, or lack thereof for that matter. I’m not too big into worrying much about the kick or recoil behind a firearm, but if that’s a focus for you or selling point then know that the X-Bolt’s recoil system is very nice. No kick whatsoever.
      I hope I answered your question and thank you for commenting and liking through Enter Adventure here: much appreciated!
      Cheers.

Comments are highly encouraged!

Receive updates directly through email. Thanks!

Follow me on Twitter
backcountry.com, shopping, outdoor gear, skiing, sale
rockmountaintrail.com, rock mountain trail, gear, outdoor gear, shopping, sale, clearance, fall sale
altrec.com, outdoor gear, shopping, altrec, sales, clearance
