The Hog

This story is a flashback from a few months ago, but still meaningful and exciting! I made a quick dash to a close spot in urban Missoula on the Clark Fork river after classes one evening.

After tying on a small nymph, and casting a few solid drifts, I repositioned to present the fly through a prime eddy where I was sure bugs and of course trout would be. Instantly my bright pink strike indicator moved, it was more of a slight hesitation on its drift rather than a direct and obvious strike or hit. And then comes my black out moment, running on pure excitement. I know I set the hook, as instinct and muscle memory told me to, but how did I know just when, how did I not lose this monster of a trout? For the strike was merely a tiny hesitation in drift. And how, was it only feet from my wading boots; surely he must have seen my movement.

Well by the grace of God he was hooked, and hooked well – I made sure of that. The line ran: 15, 20, 25 feet…I could tell from the pull that this fish was BIG! I fought the fish for what felt like an eternity, trying to bring it closer and closer to my net. I was in awe once I saw this beautiful creature come up from the deep and splash its large tail through the ripples of the water.

I wasn’t having success landing it and I could not help but thinking of what a big loss this would be if it were to get loose. Another fisherman that was nearby offered a very kind helping hand in netting, for he had seen this was a two handed battle. I worked the bend rod towards his net and finally, the fish was safe and in my hands! The guy’s reaction was. “Holy shit! That is a TOAD! Its a fish of a lifetime, wow! Let me take your picture.” I am ever so grateful for his help in netting and capturing this epic moment! :) As I was positioning the fish in my hands he sure enough jumped right out! MY heart skipped a beat, but to my surprise the guy caught it with one hand!! We both laughed.

I set my rod down and stared at the water as the Mighty Bow swam back into the deep.

20121204-221126.jpg

Maker! Web Designer • Front-end Developer • Digital Marketer • Musician • Montanan • Founder @mathsondesignco @whiskeywoodcreations | Former Marketing/Media @DIY_PETE Writing, woodworking, songwriting, blogging, and more. @scottmathson

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fly Fishing

Comments are highly encouraged!

Receive updates directly through email. Thanks!

Follow me on Twitter
backcountry.com, shopping, outdoor gear, skiing, sale
rockmountaintrail.com, rock mountain trail, gear, outdoor gear, shopping, sale, clearance, fall sale
altrec.com, outdoor gear, shopping, altrec, sales, clearance
